Presidents of Eurobest 2012 juries were announced

Creativity, Festivals & Awards

Olivier Altmann, Dean Baker, Karim Bartoletti, Lord Tim Bell, Rei Inammoto, Jean-Remy von Matt, Chris Moody and Niget Sharroks, along with John Hegarty, will lead the 10 juries of Eurobest, at festival’s 25th anniversary.

Olivier Altmann, Chief Creative Officer Publicis France, will head Outdoor and Radio juries . During his career, Altmann worked on some of the world’s most iconic brands, including BMW, McDonald’s, Michelin, Wonderbra, Club Med, Nestlé, Orange and Renault and won numerous awards along the way including two Eurobest Grands Prix.

He worked at FCB and BDDP (now TBWA) before launching his own agency in 1998, BDDP&Fils. Six years later, he joined Publicis Conseil and, under his creative leadership,  the Paris flagship agency has been named Advertising Agency of the Year (2008, 2009) and Creative Agency of the Year (2008, 2011). In 2011, Publicis Conseil was ranked number 1 in France by both  Gunn Report and The Big Won Creative Rankings, while Olivier was ranked 4th best chief creative officer in the world. During his leadership as Worldwide Chief Creative Officer the network more than doubled its Cannes Lions wins.

Olivier Altmann - President, Outdoor and Radio Juries, Eurobest 2012

I’m very honored to be part of this special 25th birthday of the Eurobest award show. Even more knowing that Sir John Hegarty, an advertising legend and well respected friend, will lead us along the way. Outdoor is probably one the most exciting places for innovative ideas at the moment, as it combines real events with digital. Regarding radio, it is one of the few mediums that has resisted the European recession quite well, so I’m curious to hear if some brands have bet on creativity to grow in this tough environment

Olivier Altmann

Dean Baker - President, Branded Content&Entertainment Jury, Eurobest 2012

Branded Content & Entertainment jury will be lead by Dean Baker, Managing Director JWT Entertainment. In 15 years of career, Dean began at various production companies and advertising agencies in London, New York and Los Angeles, where he produced commercials for many of the world’s leading brands. By founding JWT Entertainment, Dean is striving to make JWT a world leader in branded content and hopes to drive advertising deeper into the content creation process.

Karim Bartoletti - President Film Craft  Jury, Eurobest 2012

Eurobest 2012’s Film Craft jury will have Karim Bartoletti, Partner & Executive Producer Filmmaster Productions, at the helm. After starting out at DDB/Chicago, where he produced campaigns for clients including Budweiser, Energizer, Exxon/Mobil and McDonald’s, he joined Y&R Chicago, where he became the youngest Head of Production in the USA at the time. After 12 years in the USA, Karim moved back to Italy where he became Partner of Filmmaster Productions and has produced campaigns such as “Underwater World”, the most awarded spot in Italian history. He has successfully helped develop Filmmaster Productions into an international content production company.

Lord Tim Bell - President PR Jury, Eurobest 2012

World-renowned advertising and public relations executive Lord Tim Bell will preside over the PR jury. Helping to found Saatchi & Saatchi in 1970, he went on to set up Lowe Bell Communications before becoming Chairman of Chime Communications in 1994. Often cited as a founder of the modern PR industry, Lord Bell was instrumental in the Conservative Party election campaigns.

Ideas that capture the imagination are what makes the difference.

Lord Bell

Rei Inamoto - President Interactive and Mobile Jury, Eurobest 2012

2012’s Interactive and Mobile jury president will be Rei Inamoto, Chief Creative Officer/VP AKQA. Since joining AKQA in 2004, Rei has been responsible for delivering creative solutions for clients including Google, Nike, Xbox and Verizon Wireless. He has been instrumental in bringing the company the highest recognitions including multiple Agency of the Year accolades from various industry publications and achieving a world-first in 2011 by earning the honour simultaneously on both sides of the Atlantic from Adweek and Campaign. Rei is a Board Member of the Art Director’s Club and a frequent chair and judge for the industry’s top awards.

Jean-Remy von Matt - President Direct and Promo & Activation Jury, Eurobest 2012

Jean-Remy von Matt, Chief Creative Officer & Founder Jung von Matt, will head up this year’s Direct and Promo & Activation jury. Founding Jung von Matt with his partner Holger Jung in 1991, the agency now has a headcount of over 1,000 and has offices in eight countries.

Ranked among the top-three worldwide independent agencies at Cannes Lions for the last three years, Jung von Matt has also consistently hit the German ADC’s top three and has been ranked first 12 times since 1994.

Independent of the chosen medium, a great idea is like the Trojan horse: its attractive outward appearance reaches out to people but its core principle is to win them over.

Jean-Remy von Matt

Chris Moody - President Design Jury, Eurobest 2012

Chris Moody, Creative Director Wolff Olins, has been appointed president of the Design jury. Chris focuses on helping global brands make a positive impact in the world, believing that the best brands are built from a collaboration of design, strategy, technology and industry experts. During his time at Wolff Olins he has worked with a broad client base including Royal Mail, ING, Historic Royal Palaces, Sony Ericsson, Skype and PwC, for whom he created their award-winning moving identity system.

Nigel Sharrocks - President Media Jury, Eurobest 2012

Nigel Sharrocks, Chief Executive Officer Aegis Media Global Brands, will head up the Media jury. Prior to his position at Aegis, Nigel held a number of European regional roles including the head of the UK movie division at Warner Bros Pictures UK, Managing Director Grey Advertising and Chairman Mediacom. With a career spanning 20 years, he joined Aegis in 2011 where his responsibilities include Aegis global networks, Carat and Vizeum.

We’re really proud that in our 25th year we can bring together such an exceptional collective of jury presidents. It is testament to the importance of the awards in Europe that such talented and highly respected individuals are coming to Lisbon to lead over 90 jury members in honouring and awarding the outstanding pieces of creative communications that are coming from across Europe.

Philip Thomas,

CEO of Lions Festivals

 Eurobest will take place from 28-30 November in Lisbon, Portugal.