Respected professionals to judge the inaugural D&AD Impact Award


D&AD Impact announced the final deadline for the inaugural edition of Impact Award. Businesses, charities and agencies have until the 15th August to get their entries in to win at new global award show. D&AD Impact seeks to identify and celebrate great, transformative, creative ideas that have had real impact and, ultimately, contribute towards a better, fairer and more sustainable future for all. Where brands use creativity for greater good.

D&AD Impact accepts any project or initiative that seeks to build a brand or business by having a positive impact on the world. Entire Business Concepts, Business Initiatives, Marketing Campaigns, Public/Community Projects and Products are all welcome.

Winning work will be rewarded a White Pencil, the premier accolade for creativity for good at the inaugural ceremony in September 2016.

This new initiative is the result of a partnership between D&AD and Advertising Week. Advertising Week draws from brands, agencies, media, technology and startup companies, in addition to broader cultural communities to curate a hybrid of thought leadership and special events worldwide.

The diverse selection of jurors – a mix of creatives, designers, marketers, C-suite executives, entrepreneurs, journalists and thought leaders – will be looking to award a D&AD Pencil based on three criteria: an original and innovative idea at its core; clear and measurable impact in its chosen category area; and relevance to the business’ commercial needs.

Impact is ultimately the only meaningful measure of good design. As one of the leading promoters of creativity in business, D&AD is perfectly positioned to reinforce this positive message and I am delighted to help shape the conversation this year

Tim Brown,

CEO of IDEO and author of Change By Design (Urban Living Jury President)

 The eight Jury Presidents are:

  • Neil Blumenthal, Co-Founder and Co-CEO, Warby Parker, will lead Responsible Production & Consumption
  • Tim Brown, CEO, IDEO, will lead Urban Living
  • Anthony Casalena, Founder and CEO, Squarespace, will leadIndustry Evolution
  • David Droga, Founder of Droga5, will lead Communication & Interaction
  • Jamie Oliver, World renowned celebrity chef, will lead Health & Wellness
  • Lord David Puttnam, CBE, Film Producer, Educator, will leadEducation
  • Aline Santos Farhat, SVP, Global Marketing, Unilever, will leadEnvironmental Sustainability
  • Susan Smith Ellis, CMO, Getty Images, will lead Humanitarian Aid

The Jury Members are:

Communication & Interaction:

  • Susie Arons, Managing Director, Rubenstein
  • Frank Cooper, CMO, BuzzFeed
  • Gina Garrubbo, President and CEO, National Public Media, NPR
  • Balakrishnan “Balki” Rajagopalan, Filmmaker, Screenwriter and Chairman & CCO, Lowe Lintas
  • Matthew Quint, Director, Director, Columbia University Center on Global Brand Leadership
  • Paul Woolmington, CEO, Canvas Worldwide


  • Andrea Bastiani Archibald, Ph. D., Chief Girl Expert, Girl Scouts America
  • Steven Anderson, Co-Founder, #EdChat
  • Charles Best, Founder and CEO,
  • Cristin Frodella, Head of Global Education Marketing, Google
  • Brett Kopf, CEO and Co-Founder, Remind
  • Ravi Naidoo, Founder and Managing Director, Interactive Africa
  • Kate Robertson, Founder, One Young World

Environmental Sustainability:

  • David Guerrero, Chairman and CCO, BBDO Guerrero
  • Naresh Ramchandani, Partner, Pentagram
  • Stephen Rutterford, ECD, Partner, The Brooklyn Brothers
  • Freya Williams, CEO North America, Futerra

Health & Wellness:

  • Andrea Alvares, Marketing & Innovation VP, Natura
  • Roisin Donnelly, Brand Director, P&G
  • Jimmy Smith, CEO, Amusement Park Entertainment
  • Mark Tutssel, Global CCO, Leo Burnett Worldwide

Humanitarian Aid:

  • Aria Finger, CEO, Do Something
  • Yuya Furukawa, Global ECD, Dentsu
  • Lisa Sherman, President & CEO, Ad Council

Industry Evolution:

  • Eric Alt, Editor, CoCreate, Fast Company
  • Janet Balis, Partner, Strategy Practice for Media and Entertainment, EY
  • Ethan Eismann, Director of Product Experience, Uber
  • Joy Howard, CMO, Sonos
  • Paul Kemp-Robertson, Co-Founder, Contagious
  • Nick Law, Global CCO, R/GA

Responsible Production & Consumption:

  • Bevan Bloemendaal, VP Global Environments & Creative Services, Timberland
  • Soraya Darabi, Co-Founder, ZADY
  • Piers Fawkes, Founder and Editor-in-Chief, PSFK
  • Ty Montague, Founder, Co: Collective

Urban Living:

  • Dan Barasch, Founder,
  • Christian Davies, Executive Creative Director, FITCH
  • Alessandra Lariu, Executive Creative Director, Frog
  • Catarina Midby, Sustainability Manager, H&M
  • Leon Rost, Associate and Senior Designer, BIG Architects

Making its debut in New York City as a part of Advertising Week XIII, the organizers have confirmed Times Square’s PlayStation Theater will host the inaugural awards show on September 27.