Cannes Lions 2014: Changes to Palme D’Or, Media Network of the Year and Regional Networks of the Year awards introduced

Creativity, Festivals & Awards

Cannes Lions’ organizers announced a series of changes to some of its special awards which are based on points accumulated from shortlisted and new accolades to be awarded starting with festival’s 2014 edition.

Palme d’Or Award, for the best performing Production Company, will undergo a series of changes to align with the other special awards. The calculation will continue to be based on a points system awarded as follows: 10 points for a Grand Prix; 7 points for a Gold Lion; 5 points for a Silver Lion; 3 points for a Bronze Lion; 1 point for a shortlist entry.

When it comes of changes, they refer to:

  • Production companies no longer have to have at least 10 entries in the qualifying categories –  Film, Film Craft and Branded Content & Entertainment – to be eligible for the Palme d’Or.
  • The Palme d’Or will now consider all shortlisted and winning entries from a Production Company.  In previous years, only the best 10 entries from each production company were considered
  • Shortlisted points will now be capped at 10 points, which is in line with the existing Agency of the Year rules.

We welcome these positive changes to the Palme d’Or award as they will allow exposure to more producers throughout the world

François Chilot,

President CFPE/YDA.

The Media Agency of the Year Award is to be replaced by the Media Network of the Year award. The distinction will be awarded to the media agency network that obtains the highest score for entries in the Media Lions section. Only media agencies are eligible to compete in this award, which will be based on a points system as above. Advertising agencies credited on shortlisted and winning campaigns in Media Lions will see their points included in the Agency of the Year and Independent Agency of the Year calculation.

Complementing the global Network of the Year award, for the first time the performance of networks at a regional level – Regional Network of the Year award– will be announced during the final awards ceremony on Saturday 21 June, to honor the most awarded network at the festival in EMEA, Asia-Pacific, North America and LATAM.

As is our usual process when introducing changes at Cannes Lions, we consult extensively with industry leaders to ensure that we continue to be relevant and reflect the changes that are happening in the business around the world (…) These adjustments to the calculations of the Special Awards are no exception, and as such we are delighted to have the support and endorsement of the key players.

Terry Savage,

Chairman of Lions Festivals.

The Media Network of the Year will be revealed in Cannes during the awards on Tuesday 17 June. Holding Company of the Year, Network of the Year, Regional Networks of the Year, Independent Agency of the Year, Agency of the Year, Palme d’Or and Grand Prix for Good will all be announced on 21 June,  the last day of the festival, during the final awards.

Entries for Cannes Lions 2014 can be submitted until 28 March.

61st Cannes Lions International Festival of Creativity, the largest and most prestigious communications awards and gathering of industry peers from around the globe takes place 15-21 June at the Palais des Festivals in Cannes, France.