First jury presidents at Dubai Lynx 2011: Prasoon Joshi, Armin Jochum & Mike Cooper


The first three of four jury presidents for Dubai International Advertising Festival were announced by the organizers of the festival. This way, Prasoon Joshi, Executive Chairman & Regional Executive Creative Director APAC McCann Erickson, will head the Film, Print, Outdoor and Radio Jury, the Direct, Sales Promotion & Activation and Interactive Jury will be chaired by the Chief Creative Officer of Jung von Matt, Armin Jochum, while Mike Cooper, Worldwide Chief Executive Officer of PHD, in charge of over 70 offices and over 2,500 staff around the globe, will lead the Media jury.

Prasoon Joshi is heading McCann Erickson In and won more than 400 national and international advertising awards. He also chaired the Outdoor Cannes Lions jury in 2008 and served on the Titanium and Integrated jury at Cannes in 2009.  He was recently appointed Chairman of McCann Worldgroup Creative Leadership Council.

“I am honored to be part of Dubai International Advertising Festival. The creative tradition from this part of our world has always fascinated me especially when I came to know that in ancient times there were instances of disputes settled through use of poetry, whilst laying arms aside. I am keen to see and gain a finer understanding of the distinctive cultural codes that are bound to reflect in the work. Regional shows like Dubai Lynx are extremely important as they bring to light and celebrate work whose unique texture sometimes remains unrecognised internationally. Encouragement and appreciation is an important part of a creative fraternity’s need and the Dubai International Advertising Festival has provided a stellar platform for this. The team of Dubai Lynx is responsible for bringing in international standards of excellence to this festival in all aspects and I look forward to a creatively stimulating and enriching experience,” said Prasoon.

Armin Jochum is the Chief Creative Officer of Jung von Matt and he is responsible for driving creative excellence across all Jung von Matt agencies culminating in them being honoured with Independent Agency of the Year at Cannes Lions 2010.

Working on prestigious accounts over the last 20 years, such as Porsche, MTV and Mercedes-Benz, his work has been honoured at Cannes Lions, Clio, One show, D&AD and ADC to name but a few. Armin has also chaired the 2008 Cannes Lions Promo and Activation jury and is member of the German Art Directors Club and D&AD. With his track record of hundreds of awards he is one of Europe’s most awarded Creatives.

Commenting on his role, Armin said, “It is a powerful region with gifted, upcoming creative talents. I am really proud to be able to share fresh and ambitious masterpieces of today’s communication with the jury.”

Mike Cooper, Worldwide Chief Executive Officer of PHD, in charge of over 70 offices and over 2,500 staff around the globe. PHD is one of the world’s fastest growing and most awarded media agencies known for pioneering work in the areas of content and planning.

Mike commented, “I am extremely excited to be the jury President at the Dubai Lynx in 2011. The Middle East and North Africa are at a pivotal stage of development as a major advertising and creative force so the timing is perfect”

“It’s an honour to have such highly regarded authorities as Prasoon, Armin and Mike guiding the judging procedure to ensure that all the work is evaluated fairly. We look forward to welcoming them and working with them at the Dubai International Advertising Festival where their role as jury presidents will ultimately help the creative development of the industry in the region,” said Terry Savage, Chairman of Cannes Lions who with Motivate Publishing are joint organisers of the event.

The inaugural jury chair for the new Design competition will be announced shortly.

All entries being judged can be viewed during the festival to be held at the Madinat Jumeirah, in Dubai 27 to 29 March; the Dubai Lynx Awards, where the winners will be revealed, will be held on 30 March.

One thought on “First jury presidents at Dubai Lynx 2011: Prasoon Joshi, Armin Jochum & Mike Cooper

Comments are closed.